

## ARSC Journal Best Article and Best Review of the Year Awards Program Charter

- 1. The ARSC Journal Best Article and Best Review of the Year Awards will be awarded annually, covering a numbered volume (normally consisting of two issues, Spring and Fall).
- 2. The Awards will be determined by the Journal's Editorial Advisory Board. This consists of the Editor, Assistant Editor, Publisher, Book and Sound Recording Review Editors, Contributing Editors, Publications Chair and ARSC President (ex officio).

## 3. Criteria.

- a. The article or review must contribute significantly to the advancement of knowledge and/or appreciation of the role of recorded sound in the establishment and preservation of our cultural heritage.
- b. The article or review must be substantially original and not previously published. Exceptions may be made for revised or new versions that have not been previously considered for awards, or revisions that have so altered the original publication that they stand as new, original contributions to research.
- c. The article or review must embody the highest standards of research: accuracy, thoroughness, ingenuity and originality in research and analysis, and a logical and accessible presentation.
- 3. Separate awards may be given for technical (e.g., preservation, reproduction, archives management) and non-technical (e.g., artists, labels, history) articles.
- 4. Articles which are part of an ongoing series may be separately considered for an Award (e.g., Community Audio Archiving, Copyright). However multi-part articles of single authorship will be considered as one article.
- 5. If possible, the Awards will be announced at an annual ARSC Conference, presented during the annual Awards banquet, and publicized in the ARSC *Journal* and *Newsletter* and web site, and by ARSC press release. A suitable physical and/or monetary award shall be determined by the ARSC Board.

**Document History** 

Authored: August 26, 2023 by Tim Brooks.

Approved: August 28, 2023 by Board of Directors.